The Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee is comprised of nine individuals from across Canada, representing different stakeholder perspectives of refugee programs.

Nabiha Atallah

Advisor, Strategic Initiatives, Immigrant Services Association of Nova Scotia (ISANS), Halifax

Saa Bandabla

Master of Social Work student, Wilfrid Laurier University, Waterloo

Nestor Abdon

Pastor, Newcomers Network, The Peoples Church, Toronto

Vicki Sinclair

Executive Director, Manitoba Association of Newcomer Serving Organisations (MANSO), Winnipeg

Brian Dyck

National Migration & Resettlement Program Coordinator, Mennonite Central Committee (MCC), Winnipeg

Joe Garcea

Professor and Department Head, Political Studies, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon 

Leah Hamilton

Professor, Bissett School of Business, Mount Royal University, Calgary 

Kathy Sherrell

Associate Director, Settlement Services, Immigrant Services Society of BC (ISSofBC), Vancouver 

Brian Diener

Assistant Director, Research and Evaluation, Immigration, Refugees & Citizenship Canada (IRCC), Ottawa


This website helps build the evaluation capacity of the refugee sector across Canada in order to improve supports and outcomes for newcomers who came as refugees.


Centre for Community Based Research

Telephone: +1 (519) 885-1460 ext. 25294


© 2021 by Centre for Community Based Research

Logo and name only_brand.jpg